List of Uhuru's Political Friends Who Have Conceded Defeat so Far | MKENYA LEO

List of Uhuru’s Political Friends Who Have Conceded Defeat so Far

We saw President Uhuru Kenyatta become the most influential leader in the Mt. Kenya Region during the 2013 and 2017 elections. His people accepted whatever he said without questioning.

Seemingly, he thought he would use the same influence to drum support for his loyal political allies in the 2022 elections.

As they say, vindu vichenganga!

The man is no longer influential since almost all of his ‘friends’ he campaigned for have been conceding defeat.

Some of these ‘friends’ are notable people in the political sphere.

Here’s a list of his political allies who have conceded defeat so far as tallying of elections enters the fourth day.

Jeremiah Kioni

Kioni is one of Uhuru’s close political friends as he doubles up as Jubilee Party’s secretary general.

Kioni, who ran under the Jubilee ticket, lost the race for Ndaragwa parliamentary seat to George Gachagua of UDA.

Kioni conceded defeat and thanked his supporters for allowing him to serve them for years. He also congratulated Gachagua and wished him a fruitful tenure.

The conceding message read, “Much appreciation to my staff, the campaign team, and the entire community of Ndaragwa. May the Almighty God bless the good people of Ndaragwa and may He enlarge their boundaries.”

Kabando wa Kabando

The outspoken politician is one of the leaders that had drummed support for the Azimio team for the sake of the President. He said to be a close friend of Martha Karua, the deputy presidential candidate of Azimio.

He lost the Nyeri senatorial seat to a UDA candidate. In his conceding message, he congratulated the winners and assured the people of Nyeri that he would still be involved in matters of public interest despite losing.

He said, “ Our Nyeri First campaign is on pro-people policy issues: basic needs, basic rights. Voters have spoken. It’s my turn to concede, which I do. Congrats all winners. As always, I remain actively involved in matters of public interest.”

Amos Kimunya

His loss has been the most shocking. Kimunya has served in politics for over two decades; hence, no one saw him losing the Kipipiri parliamentary seat to former Nyandarua woman rep Wanjiku Muhia of the UDA ticket.

It will be remembered that Kimunya replaced Adan Duale as the majority leader in parliament after the latter was impeached in 2020.

Charles Kibiru

Former Kirinyaga Senator, Charles Kibiru, lost the Kirinyaga gubernatorial seat to Ann Waiguru, who retained his seat. Kibiru is one of the key figures of the Jubilee party, where he serves as the national government projects coordinator.

He thanked his supporters, family, election team, and running mate for supporting him. He insisted that he had chosen to respect the Kirinyaga people’s choice of selecting another leader.

“I take this early opportunity to accept and respect the choice of Kirinyaga voters in relation to the just concluded gubernatorial election where I was a candidate. I wish to thank all my supporters, my electoral team, friends, my running mate, Peter Ndambiri, and my family for your support during the entire electioneering period,” he said.

Naomi Shaban

Naomi Shaban’s defeat has also shocked many as she has never lost in the last 20 years. She is the deputy leader of the outreach of the Jubilee party.

She lost the elections to Wiper Party candidate, Bwire Okano, whom she congratulated and wished well.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button