MPs who voted for Finance Bill to face ODM party disciplinary action

On Thursday, June 15, the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) initiated disciplinary proceedings against four Members of Parliament who supported the passage of the Finance Bill 2023 to its Third Reading.

Esther Passaris (Nairobi Woman Representative) and Elisha Ochieng Odhiambo (Gem MP) are among those who may face discipline.

Aden Adow Mohamed (Wajir South MP) and Caroli Omondi (Suba South MP) are two others.

“The Party is in receipt of many complaints from its general membership regarding the conduct of its members of the National Assembly during yesterday’s vote on the Finance Bill, 2023.

“The Party has therefore commenced disciplinary proceedings against the members,” read the statement in part.

Additionally, the party also indicated that it would take disciplinary action against 24 lawmakers who were absent during the Finance Bill 2023 debate on Tuesday, June 14.

Some of the MPs who were absent during the debate were; Embakasi East MP Babu Owino, John Mbadi (nominated), Lang’ata MP Phelix Odiwuor (Jalang’o) and Bondo MP Gideon Ochanda.

Rebel' ODM legislators meet Owalo, Murkomen - People Daily

Ruaraka MP TJ Kajwang and Mark Nyamita of Uriri were also included in the list.

“In line with the party’s disciplinary rules, notices to show cause why disciplinary action should not be taken have been issued to the said members.

“They are expected to respond within the next 48 hours,” Secretary General Edwin Sifuna directed.

Azimio la Umoja had resolved to oppose the Finance Bill 2023 in totality over what they termed as high tax proposals including the 1.5 per cent Housing Fund.

However, during the Tuesday debate, Kenya Kwanza had their way as they supported the bill -which was in its second reading stage by 176 votes.

Only 81 MPs opposed the Bill. Among those who opposed it was Githunguri MP Gathoni Wamuchomba of the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party.

Related Articles

Back to top button